Town Office Hours & Services
Office Hours, and Sand Bin Hours, are from 8:00 am to 5:00 pm Monday, Tuesday,
Thursday, Friday, and Wednesday from 10:00 am to 5:00 pm. Closed Saturdays, Sundays,
and all Holidays. General Assistance is available from 8:30 am to 11:30 am on Tuesday's
by Appointment Only.
All municipal services are consolidated at the Town Office. All licenses may be obtained through the Town Office. For your convenience, Hunting/Fishing Licenses, ATV/Snowmobile Registration Renewal, and Trailer Renewal, may be obtained online, Maine.gov Local Government Portal.
Motor Vehicle Registration
When registering a motor vehicle, the law requires that the registrant show proof of insurance. When registering a new motor vehicle, you must have the Monroney (window) sticker if the price does not appear on the sales tax. Always come to the Town Office before going to Motor Vehicle. See the Basic Guidelines below. For more information, Bureau of Motor Vehicles--Vehicles Registration.
Basic Guidelines for Registering New or Used Vehicles and Obtaining New Plates
1) Bring to the Town Office the GREEN sales tax form, the BLUE title application form, your insurance card, a Bill of Sale, and for new vehicles, the Monroney window sticker.
2) Pay the excise tax on vehicle as determined by the Town, based on the price of the vehicle when it was brand new.
3) Fill out the back of the WHITE registration form.
4) Take both the white and yellow forms given to you by the Town, the green sales tax form,
the blue title application, the bill of sale, and your insurance card to the Department of Motor Vehicle. (The cost of new standard plate is $25.00, $15 extra for a vanity plate, or $20 extra for the initial cost for conservation plates then $15 extra each year after that.)
Basic Guidelines for Transferring Plates from One Vehicle to Another
1) Make sure the vehicle being transferred from no longer belongs to you. You cannot transfer plates from vehicle 1 to vehicle 2, if you still own vehicle 1.
2) Bring to the Town Office your registration from your old vehicle, and the BLUE title application from the new vehicle (if applicable), the GREEN sales tax form for the new vehicle (if applicable), your insurance card, and bill of sale.
3) Pay the exercise tax based on the difference between your old registration and the new one, plus a $3.00 transfer fee. The Town will determine and advise if it is to your advantage to transfer or not.
4) Fill out the back of the WHITE registration form.
5) Take both the white and yellow forms given to you by the Town, the green sales tax form, the blue title application, your old registration, the bill of sale, and your insurance card to the Department of Motor Vehicle. (The cost of transferring plates is currently $8.00)
If you are the owner of a dog(s) over 6 months of age, Or, after the dog has
been with the family for 10 days, if adopted, you are obligated to license your
dog(s) in the Farmingdale Town Office annually on or before January 31 in
accordance to Title 7, MRSA, §3921 & §3943.
Please bring the following items to the Farmingdale Town Office:
• A copy of your Maine certification of Rabies vaccination to show current proof that your dog(s) has been immunized against rabies.
• Certification showing proof of spaying or neutering.
The fee to relicense a dog is $6.00 for a spayed/neutered dog or $11.00 for an unaltered dog. There is also a late fee of $25.00 per dog after January 31st. The Town’s Animal Control Officer will be following up with individuals who have not licensed their dog(s).
If you no longer own your dog(s), or the animal is deceased, please notify our office at 582-2225 so that we can update or records.
The Assessors will be in session April 1 to receive lists of properties from any property owner desiring to turn in valuations. To be valid, these lists should be in writing. After April 1, the Tax Assessor's decision on valuation is not subject to appeal to a higher authority (County Commissioner) if valuation lists have not been turned in.
Any resident who feels that they may be eligible for an exemption from any and all local taxation must apply for such exemption consideration. All exemptions require completion of an application to the local town office where the property is located. Exemption claims may require additional information to support the claim for exemption, and must be delivered to the Assessor's office no later than April 1 st . The Assessors have available the necessary forms for completion, or they may be obtained online
here Tax Abatement Form (PDF
Download). For more information, Maine Revenue Service Property Tax Exemptions.
Veteran Tax Exemption
The Veteran Tax Exemption is available to anyone who qualifies. Qualifications are:
1) Be a legal resident of the State of Maine and the municipality in which they have filed for exemption,
2) Reached the age of 62,
3) Be discharged, retired or separated from the Armed Forces under other than dishonorable conditions, and
4) Served during a federally recognized war period,
5) Receiving any form of pension or compensation from the US government for total disability, service-connected or nonservice-connected as a veteran, or
6) Disabled by injury or disease incurred or aggravated during active military service in the line of duty and is receiving any form of pension or compensation from the US government for total service-connected disability.
Veteran Exemption Form (PDF Download)
Widow, Widower, Minor Child or Widowed Parent of Veteran Exemption (PDF Download)
Homestead Tax Exemption
The Homestead Tax Exemption is available to anyone who qualifies. Qualifications are:
1) Be a legal resident of the State of Maine,
2) Owned homestead property in Maine for at least the past 12 months, and
3) Homestead is your permanent residence and the only property for which you have claimed a homestead exemption. Summer camps, vacation homes, and secondary residences do no qualify. You only need to make the initial application, as long as you reside in the community. You need not apply every year.
Homestead Exemption Form (PDF Download)